Pink Ladies Shoulder (with Video)


Once again I am lucky enough to have some OldFarm Pork to use for this recipe. Its amazing meat, free range saddleback pigs that have a wonderful life in Tipperary and are lovingly cared for by Margaret and Alfie.
So my shoulder of pork deserved special treatment but not too much as to hide the sublime taste of the meat. I used some fresh rosemary and thyme from our garden and seasoned it with salt and pepper.
I also made a luxurious Pomme Puree a posh version of mash potato made with lots of butter. You can use less butter and salt by adding some warm milk to the processor to get the smooth velvet finish, but this is TheDevilsMenu.com so salt and butter it is for me 🙂
Pink Lady apples are one of my favourite apples, crisp and full of flavour. They compliment the rich pork wonderfully. The sauce is so easy to make you won’t bother with shop bought apple sauce again.
I love this dish, Roast pork carmelised on the outside, the wickedly indulgent ‘Pomme Puree’ and the Pink Lady apple sauce to die for. And after the amount of butter and salt I used making this you may just be saying “hello” to the Devil in person, tell him I said “hi”.
John
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
Creative Commons License

1 Comment

  1. John,

    that looks amazing! Had been thinking of trying the slow roasted shoulder of pork (a la Nigellla) the next time I have a shoulder…. but will definitely being doing this recipe! Thank you.

    Margaret


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment